State-by-State Requirements for Continuing Education Credits for Professional Engineers

Requiring continuing education credits for professional engineers helps ensure licensed engineers are staying up-to-date on new technology, changes in ethics rulings, and new legal requirements.  This, in turn, helps maintain the safety and welfare of the general public. 

In the State of New Jersey, professional engineers are required to complete a minimum of 24 professional development hours. Out of those, at least two and no more than eight should be related to ethics. You are free to complete as many of these as you would like online and if you happen to have more than 24, you can carry them over to the next renewal period. You can read more about renewing your NJ PE license here

Each state has their own requirements about what types of courses count toward PDH, what topics need to be covered, and how many CEs you need to have to renew your license. If you hold multiple licenses or are interested in getting licensed in a different state, here is what you need to know about PDH requirements and renewals. 

 

State PDH/Continuing Education License Renewal Special Requirements
Alabama 15 Annual – Dec. 31
Alaska  24 Biennial Odd Years – Dec. 31
Arizona  None Triennial – Date of Issue
Arkansas  15 Annual – Dec. 31
California  None Biennial – Assigned Date
Colorado  None Biennial – Date of Issue
Connecticut  None Annual
Delaware  24 Biennial – June 30 3 – 6  PDH required related to ethics

Max 9 PDH related to business/management

Florida  18 Biennial Odd Years – Feb. 28 1 PDH required related to laws & rules

1 PDH required related to ethics

4 PDH required related to are of practice

Georgia 30 Biennial Even Years – Dec. 31
Hawaii None Biennial Even Years – Apr. 30
Idaho  30 Biennial – Last day of birth month
Illinois 30 Biennial Odd Years – Nov. 30
Indiana  30 Biennial Even Years – Jul. 31 1 PDH required related to ethics

1 PDH required Indiana statutes & laws

Iowa  30 Biennial – Dec. 31 2 PDH required related to ethics
Kansas  30 Biennial – April 30
Kentucky  30 Biennial depending on last name – Jun. 30
Louisiana  30 Biennial depending on last name – Mar 31 or Sep. 30 1 PDH required related to ethics

8 PDH required related to life safety code, building codes, or ADA guidelines

Maine  30 Biennial Odd Years – Dec. 31
Maryland  16 Biennial – Date of issue 1 PDH required related to ethics
Massachusetts  None Biennial Even Years – June 30
Michigan  Held license < 24 months – 15

Held license > 24 months – 30

Biennial Even Years – Oct. 31
Minnesota  24 Biennial Even Years – Jun. 30 2 PDH required related to ethics
Mississippi  15 Annual – Dec. 31 1 PDH every 2 years required related to ethics
Missouri  30 Biennial Even Years – Dec. 31
Montana 30 Biennial Even Years – Jun. 30
Nebraska  30 Biennial depending on last name – Dec. 31
Nevada  30 Biennial depending on last name – Jan. 1 or Jul. 1
New Hampshire  30 Biennial Year of Issue – Birth month 
New Jersey  24 Biennial  2 PDH required related to ethics
New Mexico  30 Biennial – Dec. 31 2 PDH required related to ethics/business
New York  36 Triennial – Birth Date 18 PDH required to have direct contact with instructor

Remaining 18 PDH must be provided by board approved sponsors

1 PDH required related to ethics

North Carolina  15 Annual – Dec. 31
North Dakota  30 Biennial – Dec. 31
Ohio  30 Biennial Odd Years – Dec. 31 Max 3 PDH via correspondence courses
Oklahoma  30 Biennial – Date of license
Oregon  30 Biennial depending on last name 
Pennsylvania 24 Biennial Odd Years – Sep. 30
Rhode Island  None Annual – Jun. 30
South Carolina  30 Biennial Even Years – Jun. 30
South Dakota  30 Biennial – Date of license
Tennessee  24 Biennial – Date of license 13 PDH required related to health, safety and welfare, and technical competency
Texas  15 Annual – quarterly depending on date of license 1 PDH required related to ethics
Utah  30 Biennial Odd Years – Mar. 31
Vermont  15 Biennial Even Years – Jul. 1
Virginia  16 Biennial – Date of license
Washington  None Biennial – Date of license
West Virginia  60 Biennial Even Years – Dec.
Wisconsin  30 Biennial Even Years – Jul. 31 12 PDH required related to ethics

13 PDH required to have direct contact with instructor

Wyoming 30 Biennial  – Date of license

As you can see, PDH requirements and continuing education for professional engineers varies greatly state-by-state. Even if you live in or are moving to a state that doesn’t require CE’s, it is important to stay up to date with advancements and changes in the industry. If you have any questions about continuing education in New Jersey, contact us today! We would love to hear from you. 

CE Opportunities

Upcoming Events

  1. Northeast Regional Meeting

    October 17 - October 19
  2. November Continuing Education Courses!

    November 1 - November 30
  3. March Continuing Education Courses!

    March 1, 2020 - March 31, 2020

Ready to Join?

Get Started